Skip to main content

Sports and Activities General Info

Penn Athletics  

Penn offers a wide variety of sport opportunities for students. Our athletic program is an extension of the classroom. We believe that our students are first, and athletes second. Our coaches are teachers and mentors—focusing on the growth and development of our student-athletes. The Athletic Department works hard to provide positive experiences for all participants.

Our program is affiliated with the Indiana High School Athletic Association (IHSAA). As a member of the Northern Indiana Conference, we are in the following divisions for the following sports:

  • Baseball - 4A
  • Boys Basketball – 4A
  • Girls Basketball – 4A
  • Football – 6A
  • Boys Soccer – 2A
  • Girls Soccer – 2A
  • Softball – 4A
  • Volleyball – 4A

 


Fall 2016 Sports:  

  • Football (Varsity, JV, and Freshman)

  • Volleyball (Varsity, JV, and Freshman)

  • Boys Tennis (Varsity, JV)

  • Boys Soccer (Varsity, JV, and C)

  • Girls Soccer (Varsity, JV, and C)

  • Boys Cross Country (Varsity / JV)

  • Girls Cross Country (Varsity / JV)

  • Girls Golf (Varsity/ JV)

  • Cheerleading (Varsity, JV, and Freshman)

  • Student Athletic Trainers

  • Team Managers and Statisticians

(Click here for fall coaches’ information)

 

Winter 2016-2017 Sports: 

  • Boys Basketball (Varsity, JV, Freshman)

  • Girls Basketball (Varsity, JV, Freshman)

  • Wrestling (Varsity, JV, Freshman)

  • Cheerleading (Varsity, JV, and Freshman)

  • Poms (Competition, Varsity, and  Freshman)

  • Girls Swimming & Diving (Varsity / JV)

  • Boys Swimming & Diving (Varsity / JV)

  • Student Athletic Trainers

  • Team Managers and Statisticians

(Click here for winter coaches’ information)

 

Spring 2017 Sports: 

  • Baseball (Varsity / JV / Freshman)

  • Softball (Varsity / JV)

  • Girls Track (Varsity / JV)

  • Boys Track (Varsity / JV)

  • Girls Tennis (Varsity JV)

  • Boys Golf (Varsity / JV)

  • Girls Lacrosse (Varsity / JV) - Sanctioned Club Sport

  • Student Athletic Trainers

  • Team Managers and Statisticians

(Click here for spring coaches’ information)

 

Go Kingsmen!


 

PENN HIGH SCHOOL 2016-2017 SCHOOL YEAR CLUBS & ACTIVITIES 

Along with sports, Penn High School offers three intramural programs, 41 Clubs, 12 Academic Competitions and Student Council. Below is the complete list with the various clubs and activities offered in the 2016-2017 school year. Scroll down to find faculty advisor information.

 

PENN INTRAMURALS:

  • Powder Puff Football, (early August till mid September ,homecoming week)
  • iBall (intramural basketball), Mark Watts, mwatts@phm.k12.in.us (January – March)
  • Coed volleyball, Lisa Pawlik, lpawlik@phm.k12.in.us (April-May, starts after Spring Break) 

     

     

PENN CLUBS

 

  • Art Club, Becky Hope, rhope@phm.k12.in.us , The first Wednesday of the month, 3:17-4:30 PM in room 162

 

  • ASL (American Sign Language) Club, Delicia Huckleberry, dhuckleberry@phm.k12.in.us , meets on a black day every 2 weeks at 7:50 am and then at 3:30 in the afternoon

 

 

  • Chinese Club, Beverly Wu, bwu@phm.k12.in.us , Gold Wednesdays from 3:17 - 5:00 p.m in 103

 

  • Clothes for Kids, Mel Lenig

 

  • Composers Forum. Liz Cravens, ecravens@phm.k12.in.us , Meets biweekly beginning Friday, September 4th, in room 253.

 

  • Computer Club, Nancy Duncan, nduncan@phm.k12.in.us , Wednesdays after school in room 258 beginning 9/23/15

 

 

 

  • Dream Commission Society, Cathy Maes, cmaes@phm.k12.in.us ,  One Tuesday per month at 7:50 AM in Staff Dining

 

 

 

 

  • First Friday Book Club, Mary Kizer, mkizer@phm.k12.in.us , First Friday of the month after school in the IMC

 

  • French Club, Jeanie Mitchell, jmitchell@phm.k12.in.us , 3:30 Wednesdays, every 3 weeks beginning Wednesday, September 30.

 

 

  • Gay Straight Alliance (GSA), John Westra,  jwestra@phm.k12.in.us , first and third Wednesday of each month at 3:30 in the CCRC, first meeting is Oct. 7.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  • Kingsmen Against Cancer (KAC), Becky Lutkus, blutkus@phm.k12.in.us , once a month on a black day before school in room 108

 

 

  • Korean Club, John Gensic, jgensic@phm.k12.in.us , Mondays after school in room 225. Informational mtg 11/16/15

 

 

 

  • PHS Help the Homeless, Amanda Hovey, ahovey@phm.k12.in.us , First meeting on 12/11/15 at 7:45 in room 194

 

 

 

  • Relay for LIfe, Liz Cravens, ecravens@phm.k12.in.us , 2nd Tuesday of each month:  10/13, 11/9, 12/14, 1/12, 2/9, 3/8, 4/12, 5/10, 3:30-4:30 PM in the Orchestra room.

 

 

 

 

 

 

  • SCUBA Club, Ken Poling, klpoling@phm.k12.in.us , Courtney Lannen, First Wednesday of each month after school in room 144

 

  • Penn Ski Club, Becky Brown, rbrown@phm.k12.in.us , 6 - Tuesday nights in January and February, Meet at Door A at 4:15 to Swiss Valley and return by 10:00

 

  • Theatre Club, Courtney Qualls, cqualls@phm.k12.in.us , First Friday of every month from 3:30-4:00 in the Studio Theatre.

 

 

2015-2016 ACADEMIC COMPETITIONS:

Academic Super Bowl Teams:

  • English Academic Super Bowl team, Candice Beelaert, cbeelaert@phm.k12.in.us , Will start meeting after winter break on Thursdays from 3:30-5:00 in room 195.

 

 

  • Social studies Academic Super Bowl, Pete DeKever, pdekever@phm.k12.in.us ,  practices Mondays and Thursdays, 3:30 to 5 pm, in Room 125 from October to May.

 

 

Other Academic Competitions:

 

 

 

 

  • Spell Bowl, Pete DeKever, pdekever@phm.k12.in.us , practices each day after school in Room 125, 3:30 to 5 pm, from the first day of school until Nov. 14.

 

  • TEAMS (Tests of Engineering Aptitude Mathematics and Science) Engineering academic competition, Becky Tagliaferri, btagliaferri@phm.k12.in.us

 

  • USA Chemistry Olympiad, Diane Bowersox, dbowersox@phm.k12.in.us , 3:30-4:30 on Wednesdays beginning 10/21/15 in room 214


 

OTHER ORGANIZATIONS: